National Book Awards now open for nominations

The National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) are now accepting nominations for the 2008 National Book Awards (NBA), in recognition of the best books published in the country in 2007.

The NBDB invites publishers, as well as organizations and companies who came up with publications of utmost quality in 2007, to submit their nominations.

The NBDB will accept submission of nominations until noon of April 30, 2008.

The awards are categorized according to the literary and non-literary titles. Under the literary titles, the categories include novel, poetry, essay, creative non-fiction, literary criticism, short fiction, drama, graphic novel, children’s fiction, and children’s poetry. The categories for the non-literary titles include sciences, social sciences, humanities, professions, and reference.

Starting this year, the NBDB and MCC will team up to present the National Book Awards to honor excellence in book publishing. With the NBDB’s administration of the National Book Awards, both the MCC and the NBDB envision a more prestigious celebration in recognition of Philippine-published books, authors, and publishers beginning this year.

Last year’s winners of the National Book Awards include books written by Marjorie Evasco (Ani: The Life and Art of Hermogena Borja Lungay, Boholano Painter), Charlson Ong (Banyaga, A Song of War), Erlinda Enriquez Panlilio (The Manila We Knew), and Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera ([H]istoryador[A]).

The announcement and awarding of this year’s winners will be held in November, during the celebration of the Philippine Book Development Month.

The National Book Awards, highly-coveted by authors and publishers, was established by the Manila Critics Circle in 1982.
Download the file below for more details about the nominations and judging procedure. For more information about the National Book Awards, contact the NBDB Secretariat at 920-9853.