The best published books of 2007 were given special recognition when the National Book Development Board and the Manila Critics Circle announced the winners of the 27th National Book Awards last November 15 at the Yuchengco Museum.

The Ateneo de Manila University Press bagged the Publisher of the Year Award. Among the writers who won awards for their books published in the Philippines in 2007 were Senator Edgardo J. Angara, Senator Juan Flavier, Carmen Guerrero Nakpil, Conrad de Quiros, Fr. Joaquin Bernas, and Tony Perez.

This year’s trophies were designed by young sculptor Glenn Cagandahan.


ANTHOLOGY: Cordillera in June: Essays Celebrating June Prill-Brett, Anthropologist, edited by B. P. Tapang (UP Press); Mga Piling Dulang Mindanao, Unang Aklat, edited by Arthur P. Casanova (UST Publishing House).

ART & BEST DESIGNED BOOK: Salvador F. Bernal: Designing the Stage, by Nicanor G. Tiongson, designed by Brian Tenorio (NCCA).

BIOGRAPHY / AUTOBIOGRAPHY: From Barrio to Senado: An Autobiography, by Juan M. Flavier; Legends & Adventures, by Carmen Guerrero Nakpil (Circe Communications); Maria Kalaw Katigbak: A Charmed Life, by Monina Allarey Mercado (Anvil).

CHILDREN’S LITERATURE: The Boy Who Touched Heaven / Ang Batang Humipo sa Langit, by Iris Gem Li, translated by Roberto Añonuevo (CANVAS and Adarna House).

DRAMA: Tatlong Paglalakbay: Isang Trilohiya ng Mahahabang Dula, by Tony Perez (UST Publishing House).

ESSAY / CREATIVE NONFICTION: Pagmumuni-muni at Pagtatalak ng Sirenang Nagpapanggap na Prinsesa: Mga Piling Maikling Sanaysay, by J. I. E. Teodoro (Imprenta Igbaong); Tongues on Fire, by Conrado de Quiros (Anvil).

FICTION: Mga Gerilya sa Powell Street, by Benjamin Pimentel (ADMU Press).

HISTORY: Kolonyal na Patakaran at Nagbabagong Kamalayang Filipino: Musika sa Publikong Paaralan sa Pilipinas, 1898-1935, by Raul C. Navarro (ADMU Press); The Saga of La Naval: Triumph of a People’s Faith, edited by Lito B. Zulueta (Dominican Province of the Philippines).

JOURNALISM: The Rulemakers: How the Wealthy and Well-Born Dominate Congress, by Sheila S. Coronel, Yvonne T. Chua, Luz Rimban, and Booma B. Cruz (Anvil).

LAW: A Living Constitution: The Troubled Arroyo Presidency, by Joaquin G. Bernas SJ (ADMU Press).

LITERARY CRITICISM: Sipat Kultura: Tungo sa Mapagpalayang Pagbabasa, Pag-aaral at Pagtuturo ng Panitikan, by Rolando B. Tolentino (ADMU Press).

MEDICINE: Bone Tumors in Filipinos: A Collection of 876 Cases from the University of the Philippines Philippine General Hospital, by Edward H. M. Wang and Ariel Vergel de Dios (Bookmark).

POETRY: Antisi*Pasyon asin iba pang Rawitdawit sa Bikol asin Ingles / Anticipation and Other Poems in Bikol and English, by Victor Dennis T. Nierva, translated by Marne L. Kilates and H. Francisco V. Peñones Jr. (Goldprint); Mostly in Monsoon Weather: Poems New & Revisited, by Marne L. Kilates (UP Press); Passage: Poems, 1983-2006, by Edgar B. Maranan (Bookmark).

SCIENCES: Living with Nature in Our Times, by Abercio V. Rotor (UST).

SOCIAL SCIENCES: Colonial Pathologies: American Tropical Medicine, Race, and Hygiene in the Philippines, by Warwick Anderson (ADMU Press); The Dynamics of Regional Development: The Philippines in East Asia, edited by Arsenio M. Balisacan and Hal Hill (ADMU Press).

THEOLOGY & RELIGION: Investing in Miracles: El Shaddai and the Transformation of Popular Catholicism in the Philippines, by Katharine L. Wiegele (ADMU Press).

TRANSLATION: Lagalag sa Nanyang, translated by Joaquin Sy from Nanyang Piaoliuji, by Bai Ren (UP Press).

TRAVEL: Baler, Aurora, by Edgardo J. Angara, Jesus T. Peralta, Domingo Madulid, Jose Maria A. Cariño, Xavier Brisset, Enrique Quezon Avanceña, Manuel L. Quezon III, Ricardo T. Jose, and Juan Edgardo M. Angara (Rural Empowerment Assistance and Development Foundation).

PUBLISHER OF THE YEAR: Ateneo de Manila University Press

A citation was given to Vocabulary of the Kapampangan Language in Spanish and Dictionary of the Spanish Language in Kapampangan, translated by Venancio Q. Samson from Vocabulario de Pampango en Romance, y Diccionario de Romance en Pampango (1732), by Diego Bergaño (Holy Angel University Press).

The finalists were chosen by the following professional organizations and academic institutions: American Hospitality Academy, Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices, Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center, DLSU Business Management Department, DLSU Department of Communications, Integrated Bar of the Philippines, Kuwentista ng mga Tsikiting, NBDB, National Historical Institute, Philippine Economics Society, University of Asia and the Pacific Filipino Department, UP Institute of Creative Writing, UP College of Fine Arts, UP Department of Psychology, UP-NCPAG, UP-NISMED, Philippine Literary Arts Council, Philippine Travel Agencies Association, and Women’s Studies Association of the Philippine.

The winners were chosen jointly by the Manila Critics Circle and the National Book Development Board’s appointed judges. Aside from members of the Manila Crtiics Circle, the following were the NBDB’s appointed judges per category: Dr. Mario Miclat (Anthology), Cid Reyes (Art/Architecture), Dr. Priscelina Legasto (Biography/Autobiography), Usec. Elmer Hernandez (Business and Economics), Neni Sta. Romana-Cruz (Children’s Literature), Chef Richard Cordova (Cook Books and Food), Alvin Yapan (Drama), Dr. Nona Ricafort (Education), Wendell Capili (Essay), Jun Cruz Reyes (Fiction in a Vernacular Language), Charlson Ong (Fiction in a Foreign Language), Prof. Ambeth Ocampo (History), Malou Mangahas (Journalism), Ret. Supreme Court Justice Santiago Kapunan (Law), Dr. Pamela Constantino (Linguistics), Prof. Gary Devilles (Literary Criticism), Dr. Francisco Altarejos (Medicine), Dr. Gemino Abad (Poetry), Dr. Merle Tan (Science), Dr. Zosimo Lee (Social Science), Quinito Henson (Sports), Dr. Dennis Gonzalez (Theology and Religion), Marne Kilates (Translation), Emily Abrera (Travel), and Francisco Doplon (Design).

The 27th National Book Awards is sponsored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, Yuchengco Museum, Manila Bulletin, Galerie Joaquin, Fuji Xerox, and Senator Mar Roxas.

Views expressed in this section are those of the readers and do not necessarily reflect the editorial position of NBDB. does not knowingly publish false information and may not be held liable for the views of readers exercising their right to free expression.

Only comments directly related to the article open for comment will be allowed for posting. The moderator will delete all other comments. Even when the comment is relevant to the topic, the moderator will also delete posts that contain foul language, personal attacks against anybody or against institutions, are sarcastic and promote an atmosphere of negativity, those posted more than once and written in bold or capital letters or contain special characters and images, and those that promote products, services, and blogs.